Bird Song

It is 5:30 in the morning and I am out with my dogs. It is a normal morning. Dark, not that cold, and quiet. Me and the two dogs meander up the hill to the road crossing. I was pleasantly caught up in my own internal rantings.

“Why do I always have to walk these dogs?”

“Why is it always dark when I come out here?”

“Its Saturday, why is it that I have to go to work again?”

“Why can’t I live a life that isn’t filled with with all this crap?”

As we reach the flats, before T in the road, there was a light breeze. This breeze was unseasonably warm. The air disrupted my thoughts and brought my attention back.

I noticed the sun breaking into the darkness. The dogs were diving into the smells on the side of the road that were left over from the animals that wandered the night. I heard a few small chirps from a unknown bird signalling the beginning of the morning chorus.

Then, just as quickly as my mind was drawn to the present, it retreat to the past.

I remembered sitting in the desert with a gun by my side, praying the patrols went alright, watching a similar sunrise, and wishing for the song of a unknown bird to break silence.

Single shrike in trees

2 responses to “Bird Song

  • Robin

    Only 2?? After the first, I went and got coffee and settled in to read for awhile.
    I love the way you write, I hope there will be a lot more! Thank you for coming by my little corner of the world…I appreciate it.

    • Mark S

      Robin,
      Thank you for your encouragement.
      As winter settles in I hope to spend more time writing. We had our first snowfall a couple of days ago so it is only a matter of time before I will have many evenings by the woodstove with my pen and notebook.
      Thanks again.
      I do have a couple of other stories about my dog at DamiensBestDogToys.com

Leave a Reply

